It’s almost fall and time to consider who you want as officers of Chesapeake Paddlers Association. If you would like to run for office, then get someone to nominate you for a position or if you have a good candidate in mind then nominate them. The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2018 and ballot distribution and online voting begins October 11, 2018, final voting is at the annual meeting.

The officers include:

  • Coordinator
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Steering committee (six positions)


Descriptions of the nomination and election procedures and officers’ duties are in the By-Laws Section 4 online at

Of the current officers, Bill Smith (Coordinator), Sue Stevens (Secretary) and Rich Stevens (Treasurer) have agreed to run again.  Of the current Steering Committee, Ralph Heimlich, Paula Hubbard and Chip Walsh have agreed to run again, while Tim Dole, Jaclyn Gilbert and Greg Hollingsworth have declined.  We have expressions of interest in running from Linda Delaney, Katherine Neale, and Shelly Wiechelt.

Nominate officers online at

The annual meeting will be held Sunday, November 4 at the Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library meeting room on 269 Hillsmere Drive, Annapolis, MD 21403. The meeting room will be available from 1:00PM to 5:00PM.

Nearby paddling locations include Truxton Park on Spa Creek or Jonas Greene Park on the Severn River. Linda Delaney will lead the Annual Meeting Paddle prior to the meeting.

Share This

Leave a Reply